DIY: Making your Voice Echo

First, I pull up Audacity, go to file and I import whatever audio file that I need to edit.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 1.03.13 PM

Next, I highlight the entire audio file and then go to Effect. Here you will see a variety of effects that you can put to your audio file but I feel like the simplest is to apply an echo to add affect.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 1.03.22 PM

When you click on the echo option, you are able to decide how much you want the echo to come through in your audio. Personally, I think it is best to make it very suttle, enough for the audience to understand what you did but not have it be too much.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 1.03.34 PM

A very simple effect that can change the audio of your story very dramatically. How would you use the echo effect on audacity? I would use it at the ending of a very suspenseful sentence in order to heighten the curiosity in my audience.

Leave a Reply

