The Ultimate Blog Post

So I don’t know if this blog post will actually qualify as an “ultimate” post, but it is the last one and I wasn’t able to title the second to last post “The Penultimate Blog Post,” but that disappointment aside, I enjoyed this class. At the beginning of the semester, I was pretty sure that I was not going to be this class’s biggest fan…by a long shot. Technology and I do not get along and this class seemed really overwhelming, especially where the programs we were using were so complex.

I thought it was interesting though to learn about the culture of remixing and the controversy behind copyrighting things. To see the points on both sides of the copyright argument between the creater and the remixer, but it’s tough to see which side I agree with more, although I am more partial to the side of the remixer.

Learning, not to master the technology, but to work my way through it with a basic understanding at the least, was something that I’ve been fairly proud of being able to do. I do believe that having a basic understanding of how to use some of this technology will help me in my aspirations of becoming a writer. I think that in this day and age, having an understanding of technology is essential regardless of your career path and something that you need to have if you want to further yourself and your potential. While also being introduced to new technology and controversies in the sense of copyright, I have also been introduced to new types of media, from the short documentary to podcasts. Although I knew these things existed, I myself hadn’t had much exposure to them and I didn’t realize how interesting I would find them.

All in all, this is a class that could be challenging at times for myself, I did enjoy it. I think a large part of my enjoyment and willingness to work on my understanding of the programs we used was because of my classmates and Dr. Campbell. I know that sounds cheesy, but without the willingness to help and the support of so many people in the class, I would have given up many weeks ago.

Leave a Reply

